Gone Girl

gone girl

by: Gillian Flynn

Genre: Fiction, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Mystery

Review: When Nick’s beautiful wife ends up missing on their 5th wedding anniversary, the police naturally suspect her husband first. But Nick’s charm can only get him so far and his lies are catching up with him.

This has got to be the most difficult review I could post. I have a total love/hate relationship with Gone Girl. I absolutely hated Nick. I mean, you begin the book loving him. He’s handsome, charming, and kind of a sad wounded creature. But as the story unfolds, you find that he’s spineless and couldn’t tell the truth if his life depended on it… and it does!

Amy is beautiful, intelligent, and loving. But even from the beginning of the story, you have to know that something just isn’t right. Before long, you see the real Amy: vindictive, evil, conniving, and extremely vulgar. Definately not a good mix for someone that is brilliant!

The only reason that I didn’t give this book 5 stars was because I felt that the author went a bit overboard with the language. I understand that cursing and sexual vulgarity have it’s place it helping define a character, but there is so much of it that it strikes me as a lazy writer’s tool.

Sum it up in two words?  Brilliantly disturbing!

4 wings

One thought on “Gone Girl

  1. I loved the premise of the book and everything about it UNTIL the ending. Did not like that at all, I felt like she sold out and the ending was not believable to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

