Somebody I Used To Know

somebody

by: David J. Bell

Genre: Suspense, Romance

Review: Nick never expected that an innocent trip to the grocery store could change his life. But there she is. At least it looks like it could be her. But it can’t be. She’s been dead for twenty years. When the police come to his door the next morning informing him that the woman has been murdered and his name and address were found on her body, he finds himself on a quest to find out the truth surrounding the death of Marissa and this stranger from the grocery store and how the two are connected.

OMG! I loved this book! That’s all I’ve got to say….Just kidding. Somebody I Used to Know is written brilliantly. First lets look at the main character. Nick is just an ordinary guy. Divorced with a step-son that he doesn’t get to see often. He’s a social worker, volunteers at the humane society, and lives a pretty simple life, but he still mourns the death of his college girlfriend and love of his life.

Second, the writing. Bell writes this story simply. No flowery language, no wild imagery. It really feels like you are sitting with Nick as he tells you how it all went down. The simplicity of the narrating makes Nick’s character very believable.

And third, the suspense! I found myself flying through the pages at several points trying to see how things were going to unfold, my heart racing along with the pace of the reading. My husband found me several times with my hand on my forehead gasping lol.

You’ve gotta read this one!

Read more from others who also love this book at The Book’s The Thing and Hidden Staircase.

Thank you to PENGUIN GROUP Berkley, NAL and NetGalley for providing me with an eARC of Somebody I Used To Know in exchange for my honest opinion.

5 wings


bell

About the Author:

David Bell is the bestselling and award-winning author of six novels including THE FORGOTTEN GIRL, NEVER COME BACK, THE HIDING PLACE, and CEMETERY GIRL. He is an Associate Professor of English at Western Kentucky University in Bowling Green, Kentucky and can be reached through his website http://www.davidbellnovels.com.

(From Amazon)

How to follow David Bell:

Website


Where to find your copy: Amazon    Barnes & Noble


Related Reviews:

the fourth rule          silent scream          zero

10 thoughts on “Somebody I Used To Know

  1. Pingback: Review – Somebody That I Used to Know | The Book's the Thing

  2. Pingback: July’s Happenings and ARC August in Review | Jewel's Eclectic Books

Leave a Reply

