Silent Scream

silent scream by: Angela Marsons

Genre: Crime, Suspense, Thriller

Publish Date: 20 February 2015

Review: When two murders and a missing person have only a girl’s home in common, things can only get worse. And when the bodies of children are unearthed at the now closed home, it starts to get a little personal for DI Kim Stone. Kim needs to solve these murders quickly to ensure that remaining ex-staff of the home don’t end up in the morgue as well.

After reading some reviews on this book, I had really high hopes and was thrilled with the prologue, however after the first couple of chapters, I started to get a little bored. It seemed like all police work and I didn’t feel any attachment to the main character. She just seemed like a typical hard-ass detective. I almost gave up.

Boy am I glad I didn’t! It wasn’t long after I decided to keep going that all of that changed. DI Kim Stone began having more depth and felt much more human. Her tough exterior is balanced by her compassion for the victims, both of which are fueled by her very dark past.

Marsons does a fabulous job carrying the story along between the perspectives of several different characters adding dimension and allowing for a perfect ending. At times I enjoyed listening to the perspective of the killer, however, there were a few times that I found it quite disturbing. Definitely not for the faint of heart.

So why 4 ½ and not 5? Well, a couple of reasons. Kim’s closest relationship is with her friend and colleague, Bryant, but I felt no real connection there. I didn’t feel like there was depth to any of her team. Although, this is a the first book in the series and maybe we’ll see more from the other characters in subsequent books.

The second reason is because I was able to guess at least part of the end from early on. But I will say that it is REALLY difficult to pull one over on me and I did at least get a small surprise at the end.

This is definitely a series that I will follow!

4.5 wings


Angela Marsons

About the Author

Angela Marsons is the author of Amazon UK #1 Bestseller SILENT SCREAM.
She lives in the Black Country with her partner, their bouncy Labrador and a swearing parrot.
She first discovered her love of writing at Junior School when actual lessons came second to watching other people and quietly making up her own stories about them. Her report card invariably read “Angela would do well if she minded her own business as well as she minds other people’s”. After years of writing relationship based stories (My Name Is and The Middle Child) Angela turned to Crime, fictionally speaking of course, and developed a character that refused to go away.
(From Amazon)
How to follow Angela Marsons:
Website      Facebook       Twitter

Where to find your copy: Amazon    Barnes & Noble    iBooks


Related Reviews

: Somebody I Used To Know          gone girl          the fourth rule          zero          The Escape

2 thoughts on “Silent Scream

  1. Pingback: LEIBSTER Award! | Jewel's Eclectic Books

  2. Pingback: July’s Happenings and ARC August in Review | Jewel's Eclectic Books

Leave a Reply

