Losing it All

Losing it all

By: Marsha Cornelius

Genre: Contemporary, Drama, Romance, Human Interest

The Blurb:

Frank Barnes is content living on the streets of Atlanta. A soup kitchen and a makeshift shanty sure beat his days as a POW in Vietnam. But Chloe Roberts can’t handle the eviction that sends her into the hell of homelessness. With no family or friends to turn to, Chloe and her children are sucked into the traumatic world of night shelters, and dangerous predators. When they bump into each other at the soup kitchen, Frank offers Chloe a glimmer of hope that she can pull her life back together. She rekindles his lost sense of self-worth by taking his mind off his own problems. But they will not meet again until Frank is riding high as a working man, and Chloe has hit rock bottom. By helping Chloe rebuild her broken life, Frank banishes the demons from his own past. Unfortunately, the past comes strolling back into their lives, threatening to destroy the happiness they have finally found.

(from Amazon)

The Review:

 

This book literally took me forever to read! Now, part of that was life getting in the way, i.e. migraines, writing, kids. But, I have to admit, part of it was procrastination. Don’t get me wrong. Losing it All is a good book. Let me explain…

Frank is a Vietnam War vet who, as you can imagine, has suffered a great deal. He lives with chronic pain, nightmares, and a broken heart. Because of this, Frank decides to distance himself from traditional life. When he first leaves the VA, he is a hard, angry drunk (trying to numb the pain), but finds himself again through the help of his homeless friends. Frank has demons, but he is a good and honest man, a faithful friend, and has a great deal of self-respect. I like Frank.

It’s Chloe I didn’t like- at all. Chloe had a difficult upbringing with a stepfather who abused her. She then married an abusive man who abandoned her and her two children. She loses her home and car and ends up in a shelter for women. In every sense of the word, Chloe is a victim. And she lives like one. Throughout the majority of the book, she whines about her life and what people have done to her. She seems to care more about her hair and makeup in the shelter than being strong for her kids. Now, don’t start yelling at me, telling me that I am heartless or don’t have any compassion. The fact is, Chloe and I, sadly, have much in common. I lived in a homeless shelter for pregnant women when I was pregnant with my first child. The circumstances were different, but it was horrible. The worst part was that life would only get worse. The thing is, I feel for Chloe. I’ve lived her life and then some. I just have a difficult time with her weakness. I felt very sorry for myself as a teenager, but once I had my son, it changed everything.

Overall, this was a good book- a little slow, but good. I just wish that Chloe had grown to be a strong woman, instead of just getting lucky to have found Frank. I would have liked to have seen the last couple of chapters have gone a little differently so that Chloe could have been a heroine instead of a lucky victim who finally found a good man.

Losing it All is a difficult book for me to rate because, while I think I should have enjoyed it more (that’s why I kept reading), I just didn’t.

Thank you to the author for offering me a copy of Losing it All in exchange for my honest review.

2.5 wings 2.5 wings

 


About the Author:

cornelius  After working for fifteen years as a cafeteria manager in an elementary school, I turned in my non-skid shoes for a bathrobe and slippers. Now I work at home, writing novels, ranting on Facebook and Twitter, and occasionally whisking a Swiffer across dusty surfaces.
Like thousands of others, I thought I could write romance, but soon discovered I was a dismal failure. I did increase my repertoire of adjectives such as throbbing, pulsing, thrumming, vibrating, hammering, pumping . . .
I live in the country north of Atlanta with my husband, and two molly-coddled cats. My two grown sons occasionally visit for clean laundry and a hot cooked meal.

(From Amazon)


How to follow Marsha Cornelius:

Twitter     Goodreads     Facebook


Where to get your copy:

Amazon


Related Titles:

elizabeth     alice     sister     cloudwish

Leave a Reply

