Pandemonium

pandemonium

By: Lauren Oliver

Genre: Young Adult, Fiction, Dystopian, Romance

The Blurb:

 

The second book in Lauren Oliver’s New York Times bestselling trilogy about forbidden love, revolution, and the power to choose. Now with a brand-new cover and an exclusive-to-this-book sneak peek at her next novel for teens: the ambitious, wholly original masterwork Replica.

In this electrifying follow-up to Delirium, Lena is on a dangerous course that takes her through the unregulated Wilds and into the heart of a growing resistance movement.  This riveting, brilliant novel crackles with the fire of fierce defiance, romance, and the sparks of a revolution about to ignite.

(from Amazon)

The Review:

Book one of the Delirium Trilogy, entitled Delirium, was an Elite Award winner. Find the review here.

After I wrote my review for Delirium, I received a few messages from people who also loved it, but highly recommend that I not waste my time on books two and three. They claimed that book two was a disappointment, and book three was, well, bad. However, I loved Delirium so much that I decided that, just because someone else doesn’t like something, doesn’t mean I shouldn’t give it a try myself.

I have to admit that I was slightly confused as to what was going on in the first couple of chapters. Like book one in the series, Pandemonium is written in first person present tense from the perspective of Lena. But Pandemonium was a mix of two stories with the chapters alternating between Lena’s present and her past (covering the time from the end of the first book until the “present” chapters). I found it kind of odd that Oliver chase to change the writing style so drastically, but I quickly caught on and began getting swallowed whole by the story- both of them.

I, again, thoroughly enjoyed Oliver’s descriptive writing and loved watching Lena’s character mature. Pandemonium is full of action and suspense and kept me reading page after page, never wanting to put the book down. When I read Delirium, I predicted the end of the book fairly early on, and when it played out that way, I hoped that my prediction for book two wouldn’t come to pass. Unfortunately, it did, but not until the absolute ending. (I know this sounds cryptic, but I hate spoilers.) Which meant three things. The first being that I was able to enjoy the entire book until the last page. Two, the ending ruined it for me- especially the way that it was executed. And three, I’m pretty sure I won’t enjoy book three.

I’m not quite sure how I feel about the the alternating “then” and “now” chapters. While reading it, I enjoyed both stories enough that it didn’t bother me. Looking back on it, I have to wonder if the author had originally planned on them being two  separate books and didn’t have enough material to do so. And two novellas probably wouldn’t have been well received. Regardless of her reasoning, it still would have been another Elite winner for me had it not ended the way it had, predictable and disappointing.

4 wings Four Wings

 


About the Author:

OliverLauren Oliver is the New York Times bestselling author of the YA novels Replica, Vanishing Girls, Panic, and the Delirium trilogy: Delirium, Pandemonium, and Requiem, which have been translated into more than thirty languages. The film rights to both Replica and Lauren’s bestselling first novel, Before I Fall, were acquired by AwesomenessTV; a major motion picture adaptation of Before I Fall was announced by Open Road Films in 2016.

Lauren is also the author of novels for middle grade readers: The Spindlers; Liesl & Po, which was an E. B. White Read Aloud Award nominee; and the Curiosity House series, co-written with H. C. Chester. She has also written one novel for adults, Rooms.A graduate of the University of Chicago and NYU’s MFA program, Lauren Oliver is also the cofounder of content development company Paper Lantern Lit. You can visit her online at http://www.laurenoliverbooks.com.

 

(From Amazon)


How to follow Lauren Oliver:

Website     Amazon     Twitter     Goodreads     Facebook


Where to get your copy:

Amazon     Barnes and Noble


Related Titles:

final cover kdp          divergent          mercy          delirium

 

One thought on “Pandemonium

  1. Pingback: Requiem

Leave a Reply

