Author Interview with Phil Price

I had the pleasure of meeting writer, Phil Price, through a mutual friend a while back. She had raved about his first book, “Unknown” and insisted that I read it. Given her level of excitement, I knew that I needed to give his book a shot. Phil is not only an imaginative storyteller, but a huge supporter of indie authors and has a big presence on Twitter. It is my pleasure to host and interview him.


The Books: 

 

unknown

Every year across the world thousands of people disappear.
Many return home safe and well. Some are never found.
A select few end up far from home, harvested by two feuding brothers who need their blood.
How on Earth can this happen?
It doesn’t happen on Earth.

 

the turning

He’d put the horrors of the past few months behind him, finding peace with his new family.

Until they found him again, taking his loved ones from him.

Now he must go back through the void to find them.

Before its too late.

Before the turning.


The Interview:

Phil, welcome to “Julayn Adams’ Books” blog. It’s a pleasure to finally have you! Why don’t you start by telling us who you are?

“Hi Jules.

Thanks for the interview. My name is Phil. I’m a regular guy, who (madly) decided to become an author. I live in the UK with my wife, and two boys. Away from my day job and family man status, I write dark stories. Yarns about vampires, doorways, and parallel universes. They are all make believe though. Or are they…”

What are your ambitions for your writing career?

“I’m not totally sure. In the beginning I was just totally amazed that I had actually written a book. When it was published, all I wanted was for people to read it and hopefully enjoy it. I’ve evolved somewhat. Now I want a billion book sales and world domination 😊. Failing that, I would like to write more stories, sharing my thoughts and dreams with as many people as possible.”

 

___________________

Which writers inspire you?

 

“Historically you could say guys like Stephen King, Clive Cussler, James Herbert and so on. Now however, I am finding more inspiration from indie authors from around the world. I love how much passion and craft they apply to their work, dazzling me with varied stories. A few of my favourites are: Lanie Jacobs, Julayn Adams, Kelly Miles, Sharon Karaa, KJ Chapman, Rita Ames, Brianna West,  Anna Lores, and Brittney Sahin. There are others that I have yet to get to, which will happen very soon. However, away from actually writing their books, I find them so supportive of the author community. We are all pulling together.”

Wow, I’m honoured to be a part of that list! And, yes, I would definitely agree. Indie authors are a fabulous group of supportive people. You would think that, given the fact that book sales are difficult within the indie world, that it would be a competitive community. However, I too have found it to be a very supportive group of individuals, worldwide!

______________________

So, what have you written?

“My first book is called Unknown. It tells the story of a young man, drifting through life until he discovers a brutal murder. It leads him to various unexplained disappearances from the past. It also tells the story of two vampires, who  require a special type of blood to heal their broken bodies. Worlds collide. Literally.”

Literally is right!

____________________

Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is so special?

 

“My main character is called Jake Stevenson. He’s just a regular guy who has recently lost his wife and daughter in a hit and run. His life is drifting along aimlessly when he finds a secret doorway. He is then plunged into a world of vampires and mystery.  What makes him special to me, is that he has taken everything that the world can throw at him, but he’s still out there, trying to help people.”

I love that you created a “real guy” as your main character, even though it’s a very fantastic book. I find Jake to be a very likeable and strong man.

____________________

What are you working on at the minute?

 

“I’ve just finished the sequel to Unknown, called The Turning. Watch this space. I’m also part way through a Sci-Fi novel. I’m trying to branch out into the Cosmos, replacing vampires with Wookies and Ewoks.”

 Wow, good for you, Phil! I can’t wait to get my hands on “The Turning” and hear more about your new adventure into Sci-Fi. Thank you for joining me today and I wish you the best in your writing.

“Thanks Jules. I really appreciate the chance to speak to you. Keep up the good work down under.”


How to follow

Amazon     Twitter     Goodreads     Facebook


Where to get your copies:

Amazon


Related Titles:

unknown          KDP small           peter troy         amaranthine

Leave a Reply

