Secret Demon – Blog Tour, Review, and a Candid Moment with the Author

By: C.L. Ryan

Genre: Paranormal

 


 

Secret Demon – The Blurb:

sec.jpg

Based on a true story, Secret Demon relates the astonishing, and often harrowing, childhood of a girl whose life is beset by abuse and demonic activity.
We follow Megan as her idyllic early years in rural Ireland are abruptly ended when she is taken from her grandmother’s care to live with her parents in England. While struggling to adapt to a new culture and being bullied at school, Megan’s life is dominated by the unpredictable behaviour of her troubled mother, Patsy. When her much loved father moved away to work, Megan is left to look after her siblings as Patsy’s life becomes engulfed by demonic possession and alcohol abuse.
Well-meaning social workers place Megan in an outwardly respectable home, only for her and her brother, to suffer horrific abuse at the hands of their foster carer.
Upon returning to Patsy, Megan becomes increasingly aware of the demonic presence in her home which seems to be particularly focussed on her. She learns to cope with the demon and embraces her true nature – finally harnessing it to take on her playground tormentors. Secret Demon is a supernatural story of one little girl’s battle against abuse and neglect. It is the first of a series which follows Megan as her physical and spiritual lives unfold.

_________________________________________________________________

The Review:

coming soon

_________________________________________________________________

 

Secret Demon 2 – The Blurb:

Secret Demon 2 Cover.jpg

Once again the Murphy household is in chaos, and on top of that a rogue Demon is on the loose and has taken up residence on the estate, with dire consequences. Tom is still working away, leaving Patsy alone and struggling with day to day living and her own Demon. Megan has a very important cooking exam to pass, but money is short for the ingredients. Bonfire night, which is the biggest night of the year is approaching fast, and Patsy cooks for the whole street, and on top of that the family have the worry of being evicted from their house, as they are being relentlessly bullied by the local police Sargent who now knows the families secret. Will they survive?


 

The Review:

coming soon

 


A Candid Moment with C.L. Ryan:

THE WRITING PROCESS

 

QUESTION? What have I learnt about the process of writing and publishing from my books – Secret Demon and Secret Demon 2.

I sit here looking at my work, and think about the question I have been asked, not really believing that I have actually written them, and am just about to have book two published.

The first thing I can say, is that I have learnt a lot about myself, and the fact I didn’t give up, even when at times, it seemed I was doomed to failure, and I am so glad I didn’t.

I have been humbled into submission that I knew nothing at all about the big book publishing world, and for a matter of fact, about me as a first time author, and I very quickly realized that I had to learn all about it, and fast!

I have emerged from my chrysalis, like a butterfly, with a small growing locket of knowledge on how to get a book published successfully, and survive to tell the tale.

At fifty seven, I am a proud grandmother with dyslexia, and have needed all the help I could get to produce these books, and found it, after hours of research and being pointed in the right direction by an awful lot of very kind and helpful people, which lead me to where I am now.

Some of the things I look back on, and if any new author ever asked me for advice, these are a few things I would tell them.

Be grateful for any advice or help from already published authors, be open to guidance, they will always know more than you!

Do your research, your book is nothing without it, make sure you absolutely know your subject, the readers will soon find out if you don’t’, this makes for unhappy readers who probably won’t read your work again.

Trust your editor, mentor or publisher.  They have been doing there job a lot longer than you, and however frustrating and painful at times it seems, when they ask you for changes to be  made or to totally re write a chapter, as happened with me, remember! They are doing it for your best interests, they want the book to sell as well.  Listen to their best advice, I certainly did, and the end result was worth it.

Constantly go over what you have written, chapter by chapter, until you are satisfied you have given it your best, and it reads how you want it to.  Every time I wrote a chapter, I would go over and over it, tweaking here and there until I had got it, changing an odd word here and there until it flowed.  I know it seems time consuming, but I promise you the end results speak for themselves.

Be prepared for rejection, don’t take it personally, it’s all part of the process, and a great learning curve, you can grow and learn from the feedback.

Don’t give up! Be persistent, ask yourself, how bad do I want this? Remember, some of the top and very famous writers at one point in their career were rejected, i.e  James Patterson and J.K.Rowling;  and when you finally do get a deal, or you go down the new route of self-publishing, as some of my friends have, which in itself is the new and upcoming trend, give yourself a massive pat on the back, be proud, did you know 97% of authors never finish writing their books, just think about all those books that will never be read, and you have just managed to do that very thing! Get published, how amazing is that!

I sit and ponder again on this question, have I missed anything I ask myself, thinking out loud, only this! Writing is a love you have to possess to do it.  Thank god at this late stage in my life, I have found it, it is, and it will always be a beautiful gift, and if I can sit and write about my horrendous early years, releasing my own demons, battle through dyslexia and word blindness, and god only knows what else I had to deal with, and still come out smiling at the other end, then anyone can write a book, we all have a book in us, a special story to tell, and people who will be interested to read about what we have to contribute to his wonderful world of literature.

C.L.Ryan

_________________________________________________________________

About the Author:

CL Ryan.jpg

After over thirty years working in the hospitality sector Bristol-born C.L Ryan is now living in Somerset with her partner. Also a psychic medium C.L Ryan’s life experiences have influenced and inspired her paranormal series Secret Demons. Her other passions are cooking and diving —and she is a qualified BSAC Diving Instructor, BSAC Open Water Instructor and BSAC Advanced Diver— completing dives around the world from Tobago to Minorca and closer to home in Cornwall. Her first book Secret Demon 1 was published by Mirador December 2015.


Where to Find C.L. Ryan:

Website


Where to get your copy:

Amazon

Leave a Reply

